Honey-lime Salmon Tostadas

These are sooooo good I wish I could make them every night! It’s a little bit time-consuming but worth the time and effort! My husband even said they were restaurant quality! YAY!! Love the compliments! This recipe is from my FAVORITE cook book, Against All Grain. I haven’t made anything from this book I haven’t LOVED! I’m only posting the recipe because It’s all over the internet already. You should definitely buy this book, it is FULL of delicious food and desserts too!

**Note the time to make the avocado sour cream**

ENJOY!!

20140811_195807

Salmon:

  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 2 teaspoons honey
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 pound salmon fillet with skin
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil (I use olive oil because I prefer the taste)
  • Place all ingredients, except the oil, in a shallow dish and mix. Add the salmon and let marinate for half an hour, turning a few times. Heat the oil in a pan when you’re ready to cook the salmon. Pan-fry for 3 – 4 minutes a side until flaky. (I baked my salmon this time around and it was pretty good. I usually like my fish grilled over anything! If you want to grill, wrap fish in foil and grill 15 minutes.

Shells:

  • 2 1/2 cups blanched almond flour
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons chopped cilantro
  • 1 teaspoon fresh lime juice
  • Combine all ingredients and mix until it forms a dough. Divide into 8 equal balls. Line a pan with parchment paper and place each ball on the cookie sheet. Flatten each out to equal sizes. They should all 8 fit on the pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 18 minutes, flipping half way through.

Toppings:

  • RoastedTomatillo Salsa – THIS is AMAZING
    • 1/2 pound tomatillos, husked and rinsed
    • 1-2 Serrano chillies
    • 1 large clove garlic
    • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
    • 1/4 cup diced white onion
    • 2 teaspoons fresh lime juice
    • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
    • 1/4 teaspoon cumin
    • Roast tomatillos, serranos and garlic until there are black spots bubbling up and the veggies are soft. about 10 minutes total, flipping half way through. Make sure to line whatever pan you use with foil to catch all the juices and avoid a terribly dirty pan to clean! Let cool for 5 minutes. Place everything in a blender (including all of the juices from the roasted veggies) and blend until smooth. Chill before serving.
  • Avocado Sour Cream
    • Soak 1/2 cup raw cashews in water for about 4 hours. Drain, then puree with 1 avocado, 1/2 teaspoon sea salt and 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper ( I used chili powder). Chill for half an hour before serving.
  • Shredded Carrots
  • Shredded Red Cabbage ( I used the leftover coleslaw I had from fish tacos!)

 

About ourmicrolives

I am a stay at home momma to a 25 weaker, micro-preemie miracle baby boy! My husband and I are just trying to make sense of the whole parenting thing! I love to cook, bake and really eat food all day long! Fitness and lifting are one of my biggest passions and I'll share anything about that if you just ask! I am a professional American Sign Language Interpreter and love being able to have such a flexible job that works around my busy mom schedule! I just want to share the things in our life that works for us and hope that some of them may inspire or work for you too!
This entry was posted in Health and Fitnes, Recipes, What's for Dinner and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

