New Plants and a crockpot dinner recipe! So productive!

I have…been up since 7, fed a baby…multiple times..gone to the nursery and picked up some new plants, planted said plants, and made dinner. All before noon!

Last night I got into a landscaping groove. The front tree had a few branches that had broken a couple of weeks ago after a storm with 60 mile an hour winds. There’s been a dead cactus that’s needed some good ole uprooting for a looooong time. Our front walk way had a couple of desert plants that needed to be replaced with a few things that were a little more…lively.

So, after I got home from the gym at 8 pm last night, I started to trim the tree. It’s so hot during the day it’s really the only time to get anything done outside. I proceeded to get carried away despite the darkness! I finished the tree, swept up the dead leaves, ripped out 2 dead plants and trimmed our Bougainvillea.

This morning W and I went over to a local nursery and picked up another Bougainvillea, a mexican bird of paradise and a yellow bird of paradise. W is starting to point at things so I asked him what he wanted…He pointed right at the yellow bird of paradise so that’ll be his plant 😉 YES I know he had no idea what was going on!

W was pretty beat from all the eating and plant shopping and immediately passed out when we got home. I dug a couple of holes and planted my birds of paradise in the front entrance.

Then to battle the giant dead cactus. I wasn’t looking forward to it and had even contemplated asking the guys building a house across the street to dig it up for me.

BUT, because it was SO dead, it came right up. I dug out the roots and replaced it with a new Bougainvillea! Really looks a million times better!

BEFORE:

20140731_110326

AFTER:

20140731_113509

W’s new Yellow Bird of Paradise:

20140731_113537

Ashley hunting for Lizards:

20140731_113543

Water, the cat, guarding the Mexican Bird of Paradise:

20140731_113636

And dinner is in the crock pot! I LOVE CROCK POTS! I threw it in this morning and the house has smelled amazing ever since! Here’s what’s cooking:

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

  • 1 boneless pork roast
  • 2 teaspoons sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2 tbsp olive oil for browning
  • 1 yellow onion, halved
  • baby carrots ( I like a lot so  add what you like)
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 cup broth of your choice
  • 3/4 cup Burgundy wine
  • 3 branches fresh thyme
  • 2 sprigs rosemary

Pat the roast dry and season with salt and pepper. Brown all sides in a pan. Place the veggies and garlic in the crock pot. Place roast on top of the veggies, add the broth and the wine. Add the thyme and rosemary on top of the roast. Cook on low for 8 hrs and baste the meat a couple of times to keep moist. Cut the meat against the grain and return to the crock pot. ENJOY!

20140731_113709

 

OH, and don’t forget to check out the Leroy photo of the day page!

About ourmicrolives

I am a stay at home momma to a 25 weaker, micro-preemie miracle baby boy! My husband and I are just trying to make sense of the whole parenting thing! I love to cook, bake and really eat food all day long! Fitness and lifting are one of my biggest passions and I'll share anything about that if you just ask! I am a professional American Sign Language Interpreter and love being able to have such a flexible job that works around my busy mom schedule! I just want to share the things in our life that works for us and hope that some of them may inspire or work for you too!
This entry was posted in Recipes, The Good Life, What's for Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

