DIY baby food

After my afternoon workout during nap time (I’ll post the workout I did in the comments), I was craving shrimp and green beans….yes, I realize that is a weird thing to crave but it’s so good!

W was about to wake up so I made some extra for him. He’s 14 months old (10 corrected) and eats pretty much everything we’ve given him so far. Takes after his parents for sure!

I refuse to buy into the marketing scam that is baby food. It is NOT that hard to simply blend whatever you’re eating and feed it to your baby. We haven’t bought a single jar of baby food. I like to know what I’m feeding this kid and if I’m going to serve it to my husband and myself, well then W sure can join in too! We don’t’ puree everything…we like to give him textures and real bites to work with also.

If you’re interested in how we introduced food to W, check out baby led weaning. I LOVE IT.

IT IS WAY TOO EASY.

I prepared my own food.

Simple:

I sautéed shrimp with olive oil, Mrs. Dash’ garlic and herb seasoning, pepper and paprika. In another pan, I did the same seasonings mix with the green beans.

Once it’s all cooked, I take a serving for W, throw it in my magic bullet, add a touch of water and blend it until it’s pureed. Ummmm YES, it’s that easy! I pureed the shrimp and beans separately so he can taste both foods. 

HE LOVES IT! He’s eating exactly the same thing as we are and he ate all of it!

I made some grilled cheese with turkey just in case he didn’t want it and wouldn’t ya know…he wanted the shrimp and green beans over the grilled cheese! Smarty pants!

Sooooo….make your own baby food. It’s SO easy and you are in control of what your kid eats.You can do it with anything. all you need to do it add water to get it to blend. It’s so simple and think of all of the money you’re going to save by not buying jar after jar of baby food! 

SCORE!

shrimp

About ourmicrolives

I am a stay at home momma to a 25 weaker, micro-preemie miracle baby boy! My husband and I are just trying to make sense of the whole parenting thing! I love to cook, bake and really eat food all day long! Fitness and lifting are one of my biggest passions and I'll share anything about that if you just ask! I am a professional American Sign Language Interpreter and love being able to have such a flexible job that works around my busy mom schedule! I just want to share the things in our life that works for us and hope that some of them may inspire or work for you too!
This entry was posted in Babies, Health and Fitnes, Parenting Made Easier, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

