Quinoa Breakfast Cereal….mmmmmm!!!!!!

Had a killer workout tonight with my girls! Lots of legs and back today!! If I can walk to the kitchen and hold my son, I plan to make this delicious quinoa cereal! I love the taste and texture of quinoa and mixed with honey and an egg white, it’s sweet but also full of protein! And my best friend…the good carbs! It does take a while to make so set aside some time or a tablespoon of peanut butter to hold you over if you’re starving!!

1/2 cup quinoa

1 cup skim milk (haven’t experimented with another milk yet but I will!)

1 cup water

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp nutmeg

1/8 tap ginger

2 Tbs honey

1/2 tap vanilla

1 large egg white

raisins or other fruit optional

cook the quinoa on low for a few minutes until fragrant. Add milk, water and spices. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to maintain a simmer and cook uncovered, stirring occasionally for 20-25 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in honey and vanilla

Whisk egg white in a small bowl with 1 Tbs of the hot cereal. Repeat with 5 more Tbs until the egg white is completely incorporated. Stir in fruits if you’re adding them. return the mixture to the saucepan and cook over medium to low heat until the cereal thickens. ENJOY!!

NUTRITION

Per serving:

311 calories

4 g fat

6 mg cholesterol

58 g carbohydrates

17 g added sugars

12 g protein

4 g fiber

BR8270_Scrivani

 

About ourmicrolives

I am a stay at home momma to a 25 weaker, micro-preemie miracle baby boy! My husband and I are just trying to make sense of the whole parenting thing! I love to cook, bake and really eat food all day long! Fitness and lifting are one of my biggest passions and I'll share anything about that if you just ask! I am a professional American Sign Language Interpreter and love being able to have such a flexible job that works around my busy mom schedule! I just want to share the things in our life that works for us and hope that some of them may inspire or work for you too!
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

